Will this make me a better teacher?

Blog 27. I get a little panicky when I think about 11 more months of writing and publishing every single day.

I can’t write every day about things I have figured out because I don’t have it all figured out. (I don’t think we ever have it all figured out). Still, I have to write.

And, this writing takes time. I don’t have any time – what was I thinking?

I do have a lot of thinking to do. About curriculum. About skills, mine and theirs. About young adults and where they are, and what they need.

What this means is that I have to write, in public, about what I don’t know how to do, or want to change, or just need to think through.

I don’t like it.

And also, I like it.

Will this help me be a better teacher?

Will this make me a writer?

 

4 thoughts on “Will this make me a better teacher?

  1. I am not much of a blogger myself so I do not blog except when I have a statement to make or I want to share what happens in my classroom so other teachers have anoher perspective on inquiry-based learning.
    Why do you have to write every day?…
    If it is self-imposed, then you might reconsider the purpose.

    • Hi Cristina – partly I wanted to force myself to write everyday. I had started a blog with some colleagues a few years bak, but not being forced to do it meant it dropped to the bottom of my considerable workload. It is self-imposed, that’s for sure. As I said to John, I have had the benefit of some excellent professional development that really shifted my curriculum design and assessment practices, but there is so much more to think about. I do thing the writing will help accelerate my learning. It feels like the right time to take on this project. When I did, I didn’t realize exactly what it meant. I actually think the summer will be the hardest. We’ll see. Thanks for writing, and I’ll check out your blog.

  2. I believe it will make you a better teacher. Everyone must learn how to reach their audience (students) in this case. The fact that you put the time and effort to learn new ways to do this tells me you care even if they sometimes don’t. Learning new things is awesome but I agree it is time consuming and overwhelming with possibilities. Ya just gotta take things one step at a time. Keep going stay strong and own the classroom

    • Thanks John – I love that – own the classroom. Throughout my career, I have had a wide range of teaching jobs. The regular classroom is relatively new to me, but I feel like I have hit my stride. Things are clearer to me, and i am faster and more deliberate. I have had the benefit of some excellent professional development that really shifted my curriculum design and assessment practices, but there is so much more to think about. I do thing the writing will help accelerate my learning. It feels like the right time to take on this project.

Leave a Reply

