A few student Bitstrips on Genius Hour

We have been working on Genius Hour for about 4 class periods. Last day, I asked the students to create a Bitstrip explaining what they had been up to, and what they have planned for the future. I will be including it in a report home this week. I purchased two classrooms through Bitstrips for Schools. It cost me about $134 or so for 12 months for two classes of 40. It feels a little steep, but the students really love it. As well, I firmly believe that we do have to pay for the work of folks out in cyberspace. The upside is we get to avoid advertising, lurkers, and I have access to all their work, their passwords and can set up assignments for them to complete. I have used it for vocabulary work, reports, and explaining a concept.

Let’s be honest – I have also used it last block on a Friday before a major holiday, when the kids are jacked up on sugar and I am flat out exhausted. That’s worth $130 dollars right there!

It is somewhat cheaper to get the whole school signed up. About $500 for our school, and then we would have unlimited classrooms. Maybe next year.

I look forward to digging deeper into what is possible. I really love the avatars the students create for themselves – it’s a great giggle. (I #love2teach)

I have decided that instead of getting the students set up on a blog, I am going to use this format of reporting out over the rest of the semester. With Bitstrips for Schools, the students can share their comics with each other.

 

 

You can tell Levi is a wonderful comedian already – check out that avatar!

5 thoughts on “A few student Bitstrips on Genius Hour

  1. Since I share these students I get to see how much they look forward to Genius Hour. It’s so great to hear students excited about going to their class later in the day. Love the Bitstrips.

  2. Kelley,
    These are wonderful! You gave me an idea for a project I’m working on in science. I would like the students to make comic strips to show their wishes for lessening their carbon footprint. (However, I don’t have a subscription to Bitstrips or ToonDoo, which I also like. I’m not sure how well it works without a paid subscription. I’ll have to investigate.)

    Anyway, I love this post about their genius hour work! I do genius hour with my students too. We love it!

    Denise

    • That’s a great idea! I have used Bitstrips without the classroom – just more difficult to manage, but totally do-able. you can also get a one-time trial that is free, so you might want to try that. I’d love to hear about your genius hours. What grade are you using it with?

      • Thanks, Kelley, for writing back. I do genius hour with 7th and 8th graders. We’ve done it twice so far this year. The kids love it and are always asking me when we will have our next one. Our next one is coming up on Friday. Students are very enthusiastic. I have a collection of blog posts here: http://tinyurl.com/geniusindex They are my own and others’ about genius hour.

        We are also going to try a #geniushour chat on Twitter on March 7 at 9 PM ET in case you’d like to join us.

        I’d love to hear more about your genius hour experiences too!

        Thanks,
        Denise

  3. Pingback: #GeniusHour Blog Post Index | Dare to Care

Leave a Reply

