What I’d like to hear from my leaders

It is hard to get excited by blogging today. I feel quite exhausted after watching the twitter feed, reading Bill 22, and trying to imagine where this is all going. I watched the Premier (on the legislative channel) all worried about how students were not given report cards. This on a day when I called some parents to ensure student assessments made it home. It is too bad that myth is being put out there by our leader. All of my students have received term, and end of semester assessments and grades, as well as several interim reports to keep them up to date. They were better assessments than in previous semesters when I have been more constrained by a computer program and a specific deadline.

I have been one of the teachers working hard toward integration of technology and education reform. It is discouraging to think how the events of this school year may impact our ability to move forward toward real “Education Improvement”.

Some things I would like to hear from my leaders:

“We are aware that teachers and their families will be falling backward financially because of our net-zero mandate.”

“We know many teachers volunteer many, many hours of work, because they care about students.”

“We understand that teachers have paid a lot of their own money to purchase supplies for students, to buy access to Web 2.0 sites, to buy digital content from sites like iTunes and audible.com, to buy technology.”

“We are grateful that teachers have continued to make schools work and put kids first through this job action.”

“We value your voice and experience. Let’s continue to work together to create the first class education system we want and need.”

Well, you know what, I am going to go work and hang out where I get my energy – from students, from designing curriculum, from twitter pro-d, from my dedicated and inspiring colleagues.

2 thoughts on “What I’d like to hear from my leaders

  1. I am going through your old blog posts and am really enjoying them πŸ™‚
    I totally agree with your ending statement:

    “Well, you know what, I am going to go work and hang out where I get my energy – from students, from designing curriculum, from twitter pro-d, from my dedicated and inspiring colleagues.”

    I, too, get my energy from my students and my fabulous colleagues (at my school and through my PLN on twitter). Thank goodness for twitter…I have learned so much from so many.

    Anyway, just wanted to say that I read and enjoy your blog πŸ™‚
    You inspire me to reflect on my practice even more!

    Gallit

    • Hi, Gallit! I appreciate your comments. It is wonderful to write, but even better to know people are reading and sharing my passion for teaching.

Leave a Reply

