Sometimes the solution is obvious, and yet you can’t see it

Tom Hierk shared this advertisement at the keynote address in Prince George on Friday. I keep thinking about it.

Sometimes we are so stuck on riding the escalator that we cannot see any other way out. Still, the power is in our own hands to find our way.

The solution is really to not stopping to look for solutions.

I am struggling with the behaviour of a certain student right now, and I have truly “tried everything”. However, it will not do either of us any good for me to stop and just start shouting about how the situation is completely hopeless. Well, let’s be clear. Some days, when my room empties out, I may engage in a little teeth gnashing and foot stomping that would rival a toddler’s.

I do have to say that in this case, the student is not making it impossible for others to learn on a continual basis, so I do have more latitude for figuring out how to get him engaged. We’ll just have to keep trying; I will not abdicate my responsibility. Hopefully, eventually, neither will he.

Leave a Reply

